Easter

" And at Easter we eat chocolate eggs, because the colour of the chocolate, and the colour of the wood on the cross …"  [Eddie Izzard spots a flaw]

It’s Good Friday today, and (as usual) there’s not a whole lot of me that ‘responds’ to that.  (Does anyone actually know where the word ‘Easter’ comes from, by the way?)  Sometimes I wish I had been brought up in the High Church where you tend to receive a heightened understanding of these sorts of things, but the deal with me really is that I’m not very event-oriented, so I generally don’t respond to ‘festival’-type days, even the Jesus ones.

But at the same time, I’m super aware of how much I need saving.  There’s nothing good in these bones.

‘Since we’ve compiled this long and sorry record as sinners, and proved that we are utterly incapable of living the glorious lives God wills for us, God did it for us.  He got us out of the mess we’re in and restored us to where he always wanted us to be.  And He did it by means of Jesus Christ.’  [the Bible]

Thank You Jesus, thank You for all of it.  I feel like a pretty crap reward, but I want to be your treasure.  Love you.

One thought on “Easter

Leave a Reply

