hunting crocodiles

I’m still so sad about Steve Irwin dying, and I suppose I’m trying to work through why.  Here’s what I’ve come up with:

I’ve kind of come to look at the world in terms of enchantment and disenchantment: there are things that bring me life, and there are other things that suck it out of me.  And (generally speaking), the things I find enchanting aren’t concrete and REAL – they don’t actually exist (eg. Lord of the Rings, Peter Pan, daydreaming; even music I suppose).  But you can’t live in unreality; the Real World must be faced [the Great Commission].  It’s just sad that nearly all of what’s concrete and ‘normal’ is so life-sucking and fallen.

So there’s something mythical-sounding about a human being who discovers a little patch of Reality that is not only real and solid and true, but actually completely enchanting as well.  I feel like that’s what Steve Irwin did – he noticed a world that made his heart beat faster, and managed to make a living from it.  And it’s a real world; it’s our world.  There’s a reason the Crocodile Hunter was just so flipping excited about everything: he noticed how exciting it was!  His eyes kept on opening wider and wider in wonder, while mine get more and more drowsy, grown-up, and responsible.

I love this, from his daughter:  "I had the best daddy in the whole world and I will miss him every day. When I see a crocodile I will always think of him."  That’s a very cool epitaph.

2 thoughts on “hunting crocodiles

  1. ps. I just heard yesterday that for their honeymoon, Steve & his wife went on a crocodile-hunting trip – isn’t that just perfect?! They could have done anything, and they chose to do their normal day-jobs …

Leave a Reply

