On the Proliferation of Employment

I presently have 5 jobs:

    Learning Support Teacher - supporting a boy with Asperger's Syndrome
    Metro – handing out free newspapers to passers-by
    Gardening – for 4 households just now
    Business Matters – doing some admin work for a networking/resourcing organisation
    RMPS Teacher – teaching two seventeen-year-olds their Highers

As you may or may not remember, this is a far cry from Oct2006-April2007, wherein I literally couldn't get any work of any description, no matter what I applied for.  That was horrible & left me feeling helpless & pretty hopeless (Job Seeker's Allowance + CVs + regular rejection will do that, especially if you're attempting to look like a prospective son-in-law), but now, with things kind of the other way around, I guess I need to make sure I don't go after 'being successful' as a means to justify my validity as a human being.  Plus, as my bank balance FINALLY strays into the black, the temptation to call it 'mine!' will continually increase.  For as the poet says:

                            The man with nothing blames society or the devil.
               The man with much pats himself on the back and calls it his reward.

                                                                                                                  [D Rowe, 2008]

And now, having successfully quoted a line I spontaneously made up, I will conclude this message by pointing out the two other jobs which I may have added to my list by the time you read this:

    Hibernian FC – selling programmes outside the stadium
    Cards from Africa – promoting this Rwandan fairtrade business in Scotland (with Tom)

3 thoughts on “On the Proliferation of Employment

  1. With much thought on a well-appreciated 12 months, I’ve decided that today should be my final day handing out the Metro.
    It’s been good to me – being employed to be out in the open air for at least 3 hours a day is such a healthy thing – and provided my bread and butter, but I think I should move on now, especially since early mornings are my most fruitful times for writing.
    So that’s one less thing on my plate.

Leave a Reply

