Red, Red Wine

On Saturday, whilst dressed (and thoroughly in character) as a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints - I won't explain why – I had red wine spilled on my nice white shirt.  Now, we ALL know that the thing to do with red wine is to put white white on it – we know because we have been told - but my feeling was that this 'knowing' was closer to theoretical knowledge than the tried-and-tested real thing.  I for one had never seen this marvellous work in action, and skepticism filled my heart/breast/bowels.

Nevertheless, I retired to the bathroom (in order to come out of character for a moment) with a glass of Sauvignon Blanc and set to work on my poor stained shirt.  And when I got home I put it in to rinse for the night.

Yesterday morning, I took down my (now dried) chemise blanche and – much to my surprise – I could not work out where the stain had originally been.  So yes, I can confirm that white wine is the answer to your blood-red stainage: I have seen it with mine own eyes.

Leave a Reply

