Westcountry, La La La …

Right, so my last couple of posts might have implied it (what with their twee, rose-tinted pastoralism), but I'm now living in the country, and LONG MAY THAT CONTINUE!

[I qualify the vociferosity of that statement, naturally, by pointing out that this afternoon I've been interchanging gardening and drinking scrumpy ("the workers' drink" – my Dad).]

It's now been two weeks and a day since I farewelled Auld Reekie (which doesn't actually smell at all, except for the rather endearing aroma of the McEwan's brewery) and I thought I'd say something about how it's all been looking since.

I'm getting married in October, and until then am expecting to be living with my delightful parents at Arborfield.  At present, I'm working 3 hours a day as a Teacher of English to Foreign Teenagers (TEFT), alongside watching bits of the cricket, seeing Mark Cavendish destroy everyone in the Tour de France, and hanging out with my Granma.

Granma is 90 – she was born in 1919.  Most people my age don't have the chance (or the inclination) to get to know someone of her age, and I'm doing my best to make the most of it – this week I found out the name of my great-grandad's hometown, which I'd never have had a clue about otherwise.  In the last fortnight I've also discovered why my Granma was brought up in a rather bleak set of villages in south Wales (her Dad played the bugle), and how she came to turn down her first proposal of marriage (she wanted to 'do something with her life' first - good girl!)

In marrying Maria, one of the things that has struck me most often and most deeply is that her family will then be mine (and vice versa).  We are expecting to live in England – and, with any luck, near my folks in the Westcountry – but we also have a responsibility to know and be known by her (magnificently large) collection of relatives.  I love that.  I love that we'll not become any less part of our own brood, but we'll get a whole extra lot added on as well.  For example, in October I will inherit two new grandmas: one of whom moved from Lebanon to the States about 60 years ago, whilst the other, apparently, lost her first love in the War.  I am an English, British, Cornish, Yorshireman (brought up in the Home Counties), but I will soon also become American and Lebanese, amongst quite a lot of other things.  Excellent, head-spinning stuff 🙂

And in the meantime, I am eating pasties, hanging out with my gorgeous neice Ivy, driving(!), and waking up to the sounds of birdsong & my mum making up the first teapot of the day.  Wish you were here …

 

Leave a Reply

