Think of what you were when you were called

Brothers, think of what you were when you were called.
Not many of you were wise by human standards;
not many were influential;
not many were of noble birth.
But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise;
God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong.
He chose the lowly things of this world and the despised things
– and the things that are not –
to nullify the things that are, so that no one may boast before him.
It is because of him that you are in Christ Jesus…
Therefore, as it is written: 'Let him who boasts boast in the Lord.'

I'm 28, and not particularly succesful at anything (in any of the standard ways the world measures success, anyway).  It's a big area of insecurity for me, especially now that I am about to leave behind singleness and join forces with Maria – I am expected, by most people, to have 'things to offer' as a husband, by which we usually mean material things and signs of success.  And I don't have them.

Leaving me in good company.  I was just reminded about the heroes of the Faith who were just plodding along quietly before God elevated them to positions of influence & responsibility.  Such as:

Elisha – ploughman
Moses – shepherd
Jesus – carpenter
Peter – fisherman
Saul – donkey-herder
Rebekah – water-collector
David – folk-singer
Matthew – taxman
Daniel – refugee
Esther – beauty-contest winner
Gideon – wheat farmer
etc.etc.

And I guess that the big issue that comes out of it for me is, 'Am I willing to plod along without EVER being elevated?  Is being God's boy elevation enough for me?'

2 thoughts on “Think of what you were when you were called

Leave a Reply

