Back in Time

After-service-coffee
This morning, Maria & I went along to the church of which my family was a part from 1985 to (I think) 1993 – we are up in Hertfordshire, attempting to scout out our New Life (which so far seems to involve getting in touch with aspects of our Old Life).

As you can imagine, it is quite a weird experience being surrounded by people who've never known me as an adult or as anything else than an attachment in the life of my parents.  But that's not what I was going to write about.

The thing that struck me, going back there, was that they wanted to know Jesus.  The church is full of people who are genuinely very successful in their fields, and yet there was a sense of real humble need to get to the core of life – it was genuine and not a show, and (kind of sweetly) it felt like they didn't really know how to express it.

It's interesting what impresses me.  At the moment, I usually feel like my life is deeply unimpressive, and yet looked at from just a slightly different angle, I can also see that it is wildly unencumbered by obligations, happily unmoved by the riches of the world, and within reach of some potentially extraordinary exploits.

I swing between living in the best of times and the worst of times.

One thought on “Back in Time

Leave a Reply

