O Jesus I Have Promised

When was the last time you sang a hymn to the accompaniment of a ukelele?  Well you really should; you really really should.  And now you can!


 

This was one of the very first hymns I put to an alternate tune.  I had been racking my brains for songs which everyone knew but wouldn't be too much of a distraction to sing in worship, plus I really wanted to revive O Jesus I Have Promised – the lyrics feel alive and real, positive and plaintive.

I think it works – I love singing it (even in dressing gown).  Plus, since it has been done in genres as diverse as beat music and a cappella folk, it can be done in a range of styles and rhythms.  Hence the ukelele.


 

Leave a Reply

