see no evil, hear no evil

Has not God chosen those who are poor in the eyes of the world
to be rich in faith and to inherit the kingdom?  James 2:5

Today, I met a guy who is both blind and deaf.  I won't say a whole bunch about him – I don't want to abuse his right to privacy etc. – but I'm struck with the privilege of the experience.  I'm really lucky.  Most of us will never meet someone like him; someone for whom the whole range of human normality (especially in terms of communication, building relationships and so on) means so little.  I would call it 'eye-opening' if that didn't show up how even our language is limited to those with a similar 'normal' to me.

So I am grateful, but I am also struck with the need for other people to have this kind of opportunity, or at least to know that it would be an utter privilege if they did have it.

If you want to know more, a good place to start would be to read this, written by my brother-in-law Matt (before he was my brother-in-law) about a similar experience of his.  Click HERE.

One thought on “see no evil, hear no evil

Leave a Reply

