Psalm 20:7-8 [Much Amplified Version]

Some trust in chariots and some in horses, 
But we trust in the name of the Lord our God. 
They are brought to their knees and fall, 
But we rise up and stand firm.
Psalm 20:7-8 

Egyptian chariot and horses
I used to write a lot of songs and poems while in church services – partly because I have been blessed with a short attention span, and therefore have a mind wandering in several directions almost constantly – but not for a good few years.

Apropos of nothing, it started up again last Sunday, and I wrote the below Psalm extension the day before yesterday at St Peter's, Mt Pleasant.

Some trust in horses and in chariots
But I will trust in You
Some trust in careers and in salaries
But I will trust in You
Some trust in sex or in relationships
But I will trust in You

Some trust in governments and in laws
But I will trust in You
Some trust in ideologies and philosophies
But I will trust in You
Some trust in ethics and in religion
But I will trust in You 

And there are some who trust in nobody but themselves
And I don't want to be one of them either;
I will trust in You 


Leave a Reply

